Ross Honored with Outstanding Achievement Award

April 18, 2024


Robert Ross, former Chief Assessment Officer for McHenry, was recently awarded the 2024 Outstanding Achievement in Property Assessment Award in recognition of his long career in property assessment, contributions to the industry, and dedication to the people of his community. Ross received the award at the Illinois Property Assessment Institute’s 66th Annual State Conference held at the Marriott Hotel in Normal, Illinois. He retired from his position with McHenry County on April 5.

Nominees for the annual Outstanding Achievement in Property Assessment Award are submitted from around Illinois. The winner is determined by the Board of Directors of the Illinois Property Assessment Institute. Ross was nominated for the award by several colleagues from throughout Illinois.

Ross has served as McHenry County Chief Assessment Officer from 2010-2024. Prior to that, he was the Lake County Chief Deputy Assessment Officer from 2003 – 2010. He holds the Certified Illinois Assessing Officer (C.I.A.O.) designation from the Illinois Property Assessment Institute and the Accredited Senior Appraiser (A.S.A.) designation from the American Society of Appraisers. Ross is also an Illinois Certified General Real Estate Appraiser.

“Bob understands that behind every complaint, every appeal, every question stands a real person asking for some help, relief, or an explanation. You’re sure to receive the same amount of attention and concern no matter the value of your property,” said current McHenry County Chief Assessment Officer Alejandro Benitez in his nomination of Ross. He continued “It’s clear to everyone that he cares and is invested in addressing their problem. That level of investment has helped foster public trust in our offices.” “Bob is a sterling example of the dedication, commitment, and achievement to which all Illinois assessing officers should aspire,” noted Kane County Supervisor of Assessments Mark Armstrong.


Ross is pictured above with IPAI Board of Directors Treasurer Mary Tamez.

Sign up for our E-newsletter: